Douglas Miller Honorary Scholarship

Barbara Daye, Dean of Students, emerita at Appalachian State University, wishes to remember the Miller family through funding a scholarship for a deserving University Recreation student employee. This recognition goes to an individual who serves University Recreation as a genuine and selfless ambassador just as Douglas Miller did as a New York firefighter when entering the World Trade Center towers on September 11, 2001. His dedication, courage, and selfless service is a distinguished example for the students of University Recreation. Mr. Miller served his profession honorably, which University Recreation wishes to promote in their student employees through recognition and awarding of this scholarship in Mr. Miller's name.

The award is for the amount of $500 and is awarded for each fall semester.

We will award four(4) scholarships for the Fall 2019 semester.

For more information and to apply: Douglas Miller Honorary Scholarship Application Procedure

Previous Winners of the Douglas Miller Honorary Scholarship

  • Amanda Buffa - Spring 2018
  • Kristina Johnson - Spring 2018
  • Carly Maas - Spring 2018
  • Carson McCall - Spring 2018
  • Alexandra Espaillat - Spring 2017
  • Meagan Saunders - Spring 2017
  • Alexa Watts - Spring 2017
  • Emily Rivers - Spring 2016
  • Lauren Janik - Spring 2016
  • Sarean Gaynor-Metzinger - Spring 2016
  • Joseph Gannon - Spring 2015
  • Hayley Calkin - Spring 2015
  • Zach Hunter - Spring 2014
  • Whitney Blalock - Spring 2013
  • Lauren Bell - Spring 2013
  • Sam Stroup - Spring 2012

Douglas Miller, New York Fire Department

University Recreation would like to extend its gratitude to Ms. Barbara Daye & Ms. Lori Miller for providing funding for these scholarships.